A: Festive season update (Part 1).

The 15th of December, 2008 marked 365 married days for man and I (hooray!) as well as the 10 year anniversary of our first kiss (aw…). To mark our paper anniversary, I thought I’d opt for the aptly named Mexican Wedding Biscuits from Belinda Jeffrey’s Mix and Bake (one of my baking bibles of this decade!).

Once our new bamboo floors go in and we’re able to move all our furniture out of the toilet and shower recess I shall once again have access to all my cookbooks, at which point I promise to share the recipe. Having said that, the recipes I have seen on the wise and wonderful internet all appear to be fairly similar. I especially like the one listed here.

anniversary-003These biscuits are incredibly easy to make, and crumble in your mouth the way shortbread should, sticking to teeth and melting into a gooey sticky mess as you attempt to tidy the explosion of icing sugar off your hands and face!

Man invoked his right as anniversary participant to eat as many biscuits as he possibly could before the day was over!

Man invoked his right as anniversary participant to eat as many biscuits as he possibly could before the day was over!

Prior to dinner, we thought maybe some bubbly was in order and decided to splurge on a bottle of Pol Roger instead of the usual cheap(er) stuff. After suffering through a 10 minute exposition on how wonderful Pol Roger champagne is and how it’s made from x varieties of grapes and how the Roger family is incredibly down to earth and how the champagne is best in its class etc. etc. etc… the lady at the bottle shop finally let us leave with our single bottle. It was probably the fact that I cut her off at one point and said something along the lines of “I just think it tastes nice”, that hurried her little speech to its end. To be honest, I’m just as likely to ooh and aaah at a bottle of locally brewed sparkling wine (Western Australia is currently producing some competitively tasty brews) as I am at a bottle of $90 champagne. Special occasions however, demand a certain degree of extravagance. Enter: bubbly, cheese and a hot afternoon on the balcony with our languid and otherwise indifferent cat.

anniversary-010

I suspect the poshness of the bubbly was offset by the cheap plastic containers and crummy serving plate, but who cares!

Life is good!

Life is good!

On our way home from dinner (which was good but nothing to shout about) we were fortunate enough to spot the giant moon (you might remember between 12-15 Dec last year the moon was the closest its ever been to earth and so appeared HUGE at night?).Unlike the pros that had gathered on the South Perth foreshore with their gargantuan camera lenses and tripods and other fancy paraphernalia, all I had was my little digital camera, which didn’t really do the moon much justice as I took my shots.

This was unfortunately, the best of the lot.

This was unfortunately, the best of the lot.

Although this one's pretty cute- hand shook mid-shot and ended up with a heart-shaped moon. Pretty neat!

Although this one's pretty cute- my hand shook mid-shot and ended up with a heart-shaped moon. Pretty neat!

And so concluded the end of anniversary celebrations as we knew it. Not too shabby, if you ask me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

