A: Hey pesto!

Am quietly diminishing the rest of my wholesale market glut and decided to use the ridiculously massive bag of basil to make the obvious- pesto!

I consulted the all-knowing Silver Spoon for a recipe and was surprised to find that the pesto featured there contained only basil, Parmesan, garlic and olive oil. No pinenuts! Seeing how this is indeed the sagely and wise Italian cooking bible, I opted to follow suit and create a nut-free pesto this time around.

Basically, I used 4 garlic cloves for a blender-full of basil (my blender has a 1.5l capacity), 2 healthy pinches of salt, lots of pepper and enough extra virgin olive oil to lubricate the mix. Then I added in the cheese 1 heaped tablespoon at a time, tasting as I went. So I can’t really say for sure how much of what went into the mix, it’s really a taste as you go sort of ritual, as are most sauce/dip-making pursuits.

The pesto was really, really vibrant. A beautifully luminous green and smelt like summer in a jar. I packed it into an old mustard pot and poured a generous layer of olive oil over the top. This should keep for about a week in the fridge, though I doubt it will last that long!

Waste nothing!

Blenders have certainly come a long way from the rickety over-heating Kenwood mum had when I was growing up. This one looks like it stepped straight out of a sci-fi movie and I simply love it!

One Response to “A: Hey pesto!”

  1. […] glutton dressed as lamb greed never looked yummier… « A: Hey pesto! […]

Leave a Reply

