A: Merry berries.

And so marks the start of preserving season (in our house at least). On man’s request I decided to address the self-inflicted strawberry glut by making jam. This batch of strawberries are decidedly sweet. This, combined with the fact that I don’t possess a particularly sweet tooth resulted in a reduced-sugar jam that in my view, was just sweet enough.

I use the juice of 1 lemon for every 500g of strawberries, plus a third in weight of sugar. Combine ingredients for 2 hours, during which the strawberries surrender a phenomenal amount of liquid resulting in what looks like a strawberry soup!

Bring mixture to a boil and simmer gently until quite thick. (It took me about 2 hours.) Due to the reduced sugar levels, don’t expect this jam to set as thick as it would with a 1:1 sugar-fruit ratio. It is quite runny, but very, very fruity!

Transfer hot jam to warm, sterilised jars and store in the fridge when cool. I do this as I’m not all that certain how the reduced sugar affects the shelf-life of the jam. Not too sure how long this should keep although I have consumed it months and months after jarring and it was just fine! This is the way jam should be- simple, hearty and all about the fruit (with 3 ingredients you really can’t get much simpler!).

Note: Every 500g of strawberries yield about 300ml of jam.

One Response to “A: Merry berries.”

  1. […] 1 cup jam of your choice (I used my own homemade strawberry jam) […]

Leave a Reply

