A: Instant youth– just add bicarb.

I remember when Violet Crumble first came onto the confectionary market. My cousin and I would sit and discuss the inner workings of crumble-ology. Chocolate first then crumble? Chocolate and crumble at the same time? Suck out the crumble first then the chocolate or chomp chomp chomp through it? Even the purple wrapping was retro for its time.

Currently at the end of a long and drawn out, but much needed absense from work (all hail the all-powerful laryngitis), I decided to entertain myself by stirring up an extremely greedy serve of honeycomb.

Armed with a trio of old-school storecupboard standbys, I embarked on my trip down memory lane.

I found a recipe here that is similar to a lot of other recipes I have seen. Inspired by R’s brave substitution during the great mallow project, I used golden syrup instead of corn syrup. During which I realised how difficult it was going to be to figure out when the boiled mix was, well, boiled up enough since a change of colour is usually a good indicator when working with sugar! I hazarded a guess, which turned out to be a tad too late as the resulting honeycomb tasted just that little bit burnt. Good, but with a mild though distinct burntness about it. 😦

Honeycomb

Ingredients:

1 cup white sugar

1/4 cup golden syrup

2 tsp bicarbonate of soda, mixed with 1 tsp water

Method:

Mush the golden syrup through the sugar.

Mush the golden syrup through the sugar.

Combine sugar and golden syrup in a pan and place over low heat. Mix it together the best that you can before the mixture boils.

Once bubbles start to appear through the mixture, increase heat and boil mixture for 2-3 minutes. DO NOT STIR.

Be sure to leave lots of overhang with the baking paper, this thing is massive!

Be sure to leave lots of overhang with the baking paper, this thing is massive!

When the mix looks like maple syrup (colour-wise), in one fell swoop working at the speed of light, take the pan off the heat and sprinkle in the bicarb, whisking quickly then turning it out into a lamington pan lined with baking paper. The mix froths up gloriously and I would make this time and again purely to relive the moment in which the bicarb hits the pan and explodes in sugarly goodness!

Leave it to cool and within the hour you’ll have a very, very ample serve of honeycomb for all to enjoy.

Now, in my quest to maximise my honeycomb experience, I then decided to make some honeycomb brownies. During which time I discovered that honeycomb isn’t the kind of thing that takes kindly to being heated more than once. Don’t do it! Don’t bake honeycomb! It melts into a mushy, spongy sugary mess and though tasted ok, looked HORRIBLE!!! I’d provide a picture but it’s just too sad.

One Response to “A: Instant youth– just add bicarb.”

  1. miss glutton Says:

    HOW EXCITING. I WOULD *never* VENTURE HONEYCOMB MAKING! Some honey has that burnt caramel taste anyway, so you should just act like that’s what it MEANT to taste like 🙂

    Honeycomb brownie. HAHA. That is *so* you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

