R: Wagon Wheels

In our recently acquired Gary Rhodes cookbook, GFM (Green-Fingers Miller) spied a recipe for Wagon wheels. I couldn’t fathom why ANYONE would make wagon wheels. Then came many more questions. Is it possible to make marshmallow? Can I use golden syrup instead of corn syrup?

Challenged, I set about the wheely exciting task. The biscuit base was simple enough, especially since just the night before, I made lemon butter cookies.

The marshmallow was fascinating for a first-timer! and Yes, it is possible to make it at home, and YES you can use golden syrup instead of corn syrup. You only just end up with an off-white mallow, instead of a pure white one.

Mistake #1: I used the same sized cutter to cut the cookies and mallow, forgetting that the cookies will expand as they bake. Well, maths was never my forte!

The trickiest part was certainly the bit where you coat the sandwich in the chocolate ganache. You have to do it in stages. Coating the biscuit was manageble, but the ganache kept sliding off the mallow.  

Nonetheless, GFM thought it was brillant and it kept the sugar levels up alllllll bright and sunny day.

2 Responses to “R: Wagon Wheels”

  1. gluttondressedaslamb Says:

    A:OMG reading this post reminded me of the wagon wheel in my fridge, how could I forget! It’s definitely something one nibbles on throughout the day. YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. […] similar to a lot of other recipes I have seen. Inspired by R’s brave substitution during the great mallow project, I used golden syrup instead of corn syrup. During which I realised how difficult it was going to […]

Leave a Reply

