A: Who’s your toddy now?

Voiceless yet again, this laryngitis has stalked me for 4 years now, sneaking up on me just as the holidays creep around the corner and pouncing when I least expect it. 😦

Sick of the standard honey-lemon mix and looking for a change from the mix-bag of bitter Chinese teas that really are quite comforting (despite the confronting assault on the taste buds), I have officially begun my quest for *drum roll* the perfect hot toddy!

I must say I really like this one. It’s probably the smell of cinnamon and cloves through the house that I’m truly addicted to, but the tea balances out the whiskey and really boosts the restorative feel of the toddy. I suspect the next one will be a green tea toddy, possibly with rum? Mmm… rum…

Trial 1: Spiced tea and whiskey toddy

ingredients for toddy

Bring to the boil:

1 thermos mug of water, 6 cloves, 1 cinnamon stick, 1 heaped tablespoon honey, 2 fat sliced of lemon

Once boiling, add 1 shot of whiskey and turn the heat off.

Add hot mix (spices and lemon included) to 1 teaspoon assam tea leaves in the thermos and steep for 5 minutes. Remove tea leaves and enjoy!

I read somewhere that a toddy is really the sort of thing one sips slowly over the course of say, an hour rather than a wham-bam-thank-you-mam style drink, which sounds just right to me.

2 Responses to “A: Who’s your toddy now?”

  1. miss glutton Says:

    Just another reason hey, ALKIE.

  2. But Miss GDaL, you omit to say that the toddy didn’t work – you still needed a whole week off work! Agreed with Miss G – just another excuse for a drink!!

Leave a Reply

