A: Festive season update (Part 2)– Glut fest in Melaka.

Although the majority of our Christmas break was spent visiting family and friends in Singapore, man and I simply could not pass up an opportunity to attend a family wedding in Melaka (Malaysia) over the New Year period.

En route to Melaka.

En route to Melaka.

Nearly there!

Nearly there!

Hooray!

Hooray!

Instead of amber lights, the red lights count down to the green and vice versa. Demystifies the waiting game at traffic lights for all concerned. Genius.

Instead of amber lights, the red lights count down to the green and vice versa. Demystifies the waiting game at traffic lights for all concerned. Genius.

Trishaw-riders decorate their trishaws with flowers, tinsel and little knick-knacks to make them more attractive to prospective customers.

Trishaw-riders decorate their trishaws with flowers, tinsel and little knick-knacks to make them more attractive to prospective customers.

The city center of Melaka in itself has been a UNESCO world heritage site since mid 2008. Melaka in itself is a fairly interesting place to visit– steeped in history and attractive architecture. I went with my sister the history nut a few years ago and did all the tourist-y things, which meant this time around I was able to focus my energies entirely on gluttonous pursuits. Hooray!

Chicken rice balls- overrated novelty food, if you ask me. Roasted chicked served with rice steamed in chicken stock that's rolled into balls. Bleh.

Chicken rice balls- overrated novelty food, if you ask me. Roasted chicked served with rice steamed in chicken stock that's rolled into balls. Bleh.

The highlight of the trip had to be lunch at Aunt Jessie’s on New Years eve, feasting on prawn and pineapple curry, pork curry, fried chicken, fried tempeh , prawn fritters with sambal diping sauce, stir fried ladies fingers and steamed cockles. *drool*

I must have sat at the dining table for what seemed like hours!!!

I must have sat at the dining table for what seemed like hours!!!

My ultimate favourite food of all time has got to be Pork and Buah Keluah curry. The thing about buah keluah is that no one really seems to know what it is! Some say it’s a seed, some say nut. I have seen it most frequentlly described as a black nut. It’s larger than a walnut, slightly smaller than a golfball. The nuts require some pre-soaking, after which a small hole is knocked into its side to expose the pungent black flesh in all its bittersweet glory. It is this beautiful black gold that both attracts and repels fans and opponent alike. Cooked with pork (which is generally the best way to do so), this makes for a curry like no other!

Buah Keluah Curry with Pork. Mmm...

Buah Keluah Curry with Pork. Mmm...

After lunch we went for a walk around the settlement to visit relatives and attempt to burn some calories in preparation for dinner. Dinner was lovely. We opted to eat at a restaurant in the portuguese settlement square- chilli crab, garlic crab, sambal prawns, steamed fish, fried squid etc. etc. My word, there wasn’t an inch of space left in my stomach for even a grain of rice!

Entrance to the portuguese square.

Entrance to the portuguese square.

The rest of new years eve went fairly quickly, as we walked through the neighbourhood checking out Christmas decorations and soaking up festivities. Children (and the young at heart) were playing with fireworks all evening, which led up to the grand finale at midnight where the entire street took turns lighting up huge strings of firecrackers. What a sight/sound!

It's just not Christmas without a reindeer sighting.

It's just not Christmas without a reindeer sighting.

ho-ho-ho!

ho-ho-ho!

Funky spinny, sparkly, firey thingy.

Funky spinny, sparkly, firey thingy.

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

Giant firecracker.

Giant firecracker.

New Year's aftermath.

New Year's aftermath.

I ate so much on New Year’s Eve that I literally ate NOTHING the next day. It was incredibly worthwhile, and I made sure I wrote downa s many of Aunty Jessie’s recipes as I could, just so we can have a piece of Melaka here in Perth every so often.

Unfortunately post-its were all I had on me while in Melaka. In my foresight, I also took down Aunt Jessie's phone number, just in case!

Unfortunately post-its were all I had on me while in Melaka. In my foresight, I also took down Aunt Jessie's phone number, just in case!

2 Responses to “A: Festive season update (Part 2)– Glut fest in Melaka.”

  1. you *Must* share those recipes!!!

  2. A: What, you mean you can’t read it off my very detailed photo??? :) Will test the recipes out first, you know what it’s like getting recipes off aunts/uncles…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

